Pack Behaviour

The pack behaviour of the food can sometimes be interesting.

I have explained before how I used this behaviour once to reel in four foodstuffs when I had captured the dominant one of the group. For the longest time my observations in this respect have been, as the food would say, hit or miss (a curious expression, while it does not surprise me that the food needs an explanation for the obvious, if any of you can think of a third possibility where one neither hits nor misses when attacking, do let me know). Sometimes a small food gets a big following, sometimes it just dries up out there under the sun alone, and I have to content myself with picking the dry bones and skin.

Dried up bones are good for picking leftover pieces from my beak though. Hygiene is important for any self-respecting Sarlacc.

But so far I have failed to see any universal pattern I can exploit. Patiently, I continue to observe and learn.

If I abandon a piece of live food outside in hopes of attracting more, it tends not to last long under the sunlight.

Maybe I should feed it regularly.

Then again, that sounds more like a pet. May as well take it for a walk. If the day comes when the Sarlacci take pets out for a walk, I recommend you hide somewhere.

Dead food, on the other hand, scares other food away instead of attracting it. Sometimes it works once though, but only once. I believe the food gets distracted with something shiny on the bait, and lose interest after retrieving it.

So does the food get attracted by other food when it is dead or alive?

You understand the dilemma? It is tough being a Sarlacc, I know.

Today I was observing again. Some food seemed to be lying on the sand some distance away from my home, covered with a small purple cover (a cloak, I believe it’s called), and made some small movements that did not dislodge it from the sand. I did not think it looked too alive, but maybe the food would be attracted and give me an opportunity. I would just had to make do with whatever I could grab.

The Sarlacci’s capacity for adaptation is legendary. If you ever find yourself thinking “there is no way the Sarlacc can do this,” then remember to ask yourself “would he eat me if he could do it?” If the answer is yes, chances are the Sarlacc is leading you on and can do whatever you thought he couldn’t.

Where was I? Oh yes, the barely moving food on the sand. After some time, and some slow, languid moves, I heard some other food approaching.

“You think he’s alive?”

“Not sure…”

The purple cloaked food looked more agitated, and moved some more.

“He’s raising his arm… It’s standing up? I don’t think he can do much though.”

“So much the better, let’s check if he has anything of value. If he so much as blinks at me, shoot him.”

So the food covered the distance, one of them grabbed the cloak, pulled… And apparently was very surprised to see that there was nothing under the cloak.

Except for the end of my first tentacle sticking out of the sand.

Well, I did say that some food seemed to be lying nearby. I was, in fact, trying very hard to make it look that way.

After the quick two course meal, I picked up the cloak and set it up again. I believe the correct term for this is “bait.”

It’s amazing how many uses the junk the food carries can be put to.

Heeeeere, little Jawa, heeeeeere…

This entry was posted in Desert Life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

